Reporting Cycle for UN Treaty Bodies

As the UK has ratified 7 of the core UN human rights treaties, the government must report to 7 treaty bodies or committees:

The members of each treaty body are independent experts who have been appointed from a broad geographical spread and for their experience in the subject area. The reporting cycles for each committee differ in length and each treaty body has developed its own particular working methods. The diagram below outlines the common steps in the reporting cycle that all treaty bodies will undertake.